Are you a fan of action-packed movies filled with epic battles between vampires and werewolves? Then the Underworld movie franchise is perfect for you! 

Watching the Underworld movies in chronological order is essential to understanding the storyline and character development. Doing so will give you a clear picture of the intricate relationships between the characters, and how they fit into the overarching narrative.

The Correct Order to Watch the Underworld Movies

Whether you are a die-hard fan or a newcomer to the franchise, this viewing order will undoubtedly enhance your enjoyment of the series.

The correct order to watch the Underworld movies is as follows:

  1. Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (2009)
  2. Underworld (2003)
  3. Underworld: Evolution (2006)
  4. Underworld: Awakening (2012)
  5. Underworld: Blood Wars (2016)

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (2009)

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans is a prequel to the first two Underworld movies, and it transports viewers back in time to when the war between the vampires and the lycans began. The film focuses on the love story between Lucian, the first werewolf who possesses the power to transform at will, and Sonja, the vampire princess.

In the movie, Lucian is a slave to the vampires, forced to serve them as an enforcer and protector. He dreams of freedom and equality for his kind and falls in love with Sonja. However, their forbidden love threatens to ignite a war that could destroy both species.

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans provides a fascinating backstory to the Underworld franchise, revealing how the feud between the vampires and lycans started. It also sheds light on Lucian's character, a pivotal figure in the series, and explores his motivations and desires.

The movie has everything that fans of the franchise have come to expect: action-packed fight scenes, stunning visual effects, and a gripping storyline. Rhona Mitra as Sonja and Michael Sheen as Lucian deliver powerful performances that elevate the film beyond a typical action flick.

Underworld (2003)

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans

"Underworld" introduced audiences to a world where vampires and werewolves, known as Lycans, are engaged in a centuries-long war. Selene (played by Kate Beckinsale), a vampire warrior, finds herself drawn into the conflict when she falls in love with Michael Corvin (Scott Speedman), a human caught in the middle of the supernatural feud.

The movie is a perfect blend of action, horror, and romance that will keep you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end. The Gothic-inspired setting, stunning visuals, and intricate mythology make "Underworld" a unique and captivating addition to the vampire and werewolf genre.

What sets "Underworld" apart from other vampire movies is its portrayal of vampires as fierce warriors with their own code of honor and a complex society. Selene is not just a damsel in distress waiting to be rescued but a skilled fighter who can hold her own against any opponent.

Furthermore, the chemistry between Selene and Michael adds an extra layer of complexity to the story, making it not just a battle between two species, but a tale of forbidden love and loyalty.

Underworld: Evolution (2006)

The second installment of the Underworld movie franchise, "Underworld: Evolution," takes us deeper into the ongoing war between vampires and werewolves. The movie picks up where the first one left off, with Selene (Kate Beckinsale) and Michael (Scott Speedman) on the run from both vampire and Lycan clans.

As they try to uncover the secrets behind their bloodlines, they discover a powerful artifact that could tip the scales of the war in favor of either side. However, they must face new enemies and challenges along the way, including the return of Marcus Corvinus, a powerful ancient vampire, and his bloodthirsty brother, William, the first werewolf.

But what sets "Underworld: Evolution" apart from its predecessor is its exploration of the history and mythology of the vampire and werewolf clans. We get a glimpse into their origins and the events that shaped their current situation.

Furthermore, "Underworld: Evolution" delves deeper into the relationship between Selene and Michael, who become more than just allies as they learn to trust each other and rely on their skills to survive. Their chemistry and dynamic make for a compelling storyline that keeps viewers engaged throughout the movie.

Underworld: Awakening (2012)

Underworld: Awakening (2012)

Underworld: Awakening takes place six months after the events of Underworld: Evolution. The film follows Selene, who has been in stasis and awakens to find that humans have discovered the existence of both vampires and Lycans.

Humans begin to hunt down and kill vampires and Lycans, forcing Selene to go on the run with Michael's hybrid daughter, Eve. Along the way, they encounter a new group of Lycans known as "the Purists," who seek to destroy all non-pureblooded Lycans.

Underworld: Awakening injects a fresh dose of action and suspense into the franchise, with stunning visuals and intense fight scenes. Kate Beckinsale reprises her role as Selene, delivering another outstanding performance. Joining her is Theo James as David, who provides a refreshing new character to the series.

The film also introduces us to a new type of Lycan, one that can shift between human and Lycan form at will. This adds a new layer to the mythology of the franchise, making it even more exciting and unpredictable.

Overall, Underworld: Awakening is a thrilling addition to the series, pushing the story forward in unexpected ways while staying true to the core elements that make Underworld so compelling. Its unique take on the vampire and Lycan mythos is sure to keep you engaged from beginning to end.

Underworld: Blood Wars (2016)

Underworld: Blood Wars (2016)

In this fifth installment of the Underworld franchise, we are taken on another action-packed journey with Selene, the vampire death dealer. After being betrayed by her own kind, Selene finds herself fighting for survival once again. This time, she must also protect her hybrid daughter, Eve, from those who seek to use her blood for their own nefarious purposes.

As the war between vampires and Lycans intensifies, Selene discovers that the key to ending the conflict may lie in a mysterious young woman named Marius. With the help of David, an ally from her past, Selene sets out to find Marius and uncover the truth about her own ancestry.

With stunning visuals and heart-pumping action sequences, Underworld: Blood Wars delivers everything fans have come to expect from the franchise. Kate Beckinsale gives another impressive performance as Selene, showcasing her signature blend of strength and vulnerability. Newcomer Tobias Menzies also shines as the menacing Lycan leader, Marius.


In conclusion, if you're looking for a thrilling cinematic experience that will keep you on the edge of your seat, give the Underworld movie franchise a chance. By watching the movies in chronological order, you'll gain a deeper appreciation for the story's complexity and discover what makes this series a fan favorite.

For those looking for a solution to download streaming videos, StreamFab has been proven effective in addressing these issues. Check it out here.